Turkey Caucus Co-Chairs Statement on Turkey Republic Day
Turkey Caucus Co-Chairs Statement on Turkey Republic Day


Congressmen Steve Cohen (TN-09), Joe Wilson (SC-02), Gerry Connolly (VA-11) and Steve Chabot (OH-01) released the following statement:

"Congratulations to the People of Turkey and Turkish Americans on this 99th commemoration of the founding of the Republic of Turkey.

As co-chairs of the Congressional Caucus on US-Turkey Relations and Turkish Americans, we recognize the vast reforms that were undertaken by Mustafa Kemal Atatürk and his vision for a reformed, modernized, and democratic Turkish Republic. Today, Turkish Americans represent a vital thread of the American fabric, and with rich culture and history, they serve as the best ambassadors for strong relations between our two countries.

As Turkey celebrates its 70th anniversary of NATO accession we would like to highlight its contributions to regional security including diplomatic efforts in mitigating the challenges arising from the war in Ukraine. Turkey has been a crucial partner to fully implement the Montreux Convention which prevented the Black Sea from becoming part of the war zone and brokered the grain export deal to help feed the world. We look forward to working with Turkey to ensure its concerns are heard by all allies as it votes to ratify Sweden and Finland as new members of the transatlantic alliance.

We congratulate the Turkish people and Turkish Americans on Republic Day 2022 and look forward to strengthening US-Turkey relations."

Currently,there are 88 members in the Turkish Caucus.